KATIE DIGIOVANCARLO

Where were you born and raised? Born and raised in Lancaster, NY!


When did you start dancing and why? I started dancing when I was 3. I don't remember my life at that time, being 3 and all (hehe), but I'm sure my mom thought I would look cute in the little cosutmes so she put me in dance classes. I kept dancing because it was an emotional, creative outlet and it taught me everything I know about teamwork, hardwork, and passion. It changed my life and made me who I am.


What subjects did you study? Tap (Woo!!!), Jazz, Ballet/Pointe, Hip Hop, Lyrical, Contemporary


What do you like to do in your free time? SHOP, travel, read, write poetry, watch way too much TV (even though I don't have a ton of free time) and go to concerts.


What do you love about teaching dance? I love being a part of the dancers' journey, and getting the opportunity to pass along some of the knowledge I've gained through my own. It's extremely rewarding to see them work so hard in classes, grow, and succeed. 


Who was your biggest influence growing up? I'm going to go the non-dancer route on this question and say my mom. She always taught me to be a kind person and not let anyone tell me I couldn't do something. So every time my legs were shaking and I was sore from class, I kept pushing forward because "I can't" was never an option.


Secret talent? I can play the steel drums, shout out to Lancaster CKSO!


Favorite article of clothing? This is a tough one... I'm a fashion major and I LOVE ALL CLOTHES! If I had to pick something, it would be my black 7 For All Mankind skinny jeans! Who doesn't have a favorite pair of jeans!


Favorite snack food? Ruffles and Bison dip!

For more information, call [716] 288-7868